Skip to content

Where We’ve Been (And Where We’ll Be For A While)

September 2, 2010

For the last few months, I’ve been working on a pretty total overhaul of the power ring HUD. It has a multi-mode interface unlike any I’ve used in SL, allowing the HUD to adjust to what you’re doing and put the functions you need at the moment right in front of you. It looks really great.

It also doesn’t work worth a fig in the slightest bit of lag.

I should have known anything that might conceivably be called “version 2.0” , with major user interface changes, in Second Life, was going to be doomed. Unlike that other 2.0 interface, we’re not going to release this. It’s just cool enough to be enormously frustrating when it doesn’t work. Which is at least half the time. I thought I could fix it, but it’s not the HUD, it’s SL.

That means it’s going to be longer between releases that we’d really like it to be. That’s a shame, because there’s a lot of other cool stuff in this version. You’ll see it as soon as I can get a usable user interface wrapped around it.

Thanks for waiting.

Comments are closed.

